Comics: More Than Words

Active Research Group

This group is a research platform that seeks to establish a bridge among people working on Comics from different disciplines. It also seeks to conduct research on Comics from a transnational, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary perspective. We consider Comics to have rich traditions and artistic works that have been underexplored and have plenty to contribute to debates on Queer and LGBTQ+ studies, feminist studies, cultural theory, bio-politics, and the relation between fiction and techno-science, among others. By looking at the world from the academically peripheral standpoints of graphic narratives, popular culture, fandom, visual studies, and superheroes; this group offers a uniquely critical insight into modern societies.

For more information on our group, activities, and comics around Stanford, visit ComicsAtStanford.com

 

 

Faculty PIs

Past Events

November
30
Date
Wednesday, November 30, 2022, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
October
12
Date
Wednesday, October 12, 2022, 6:00pm
May
18
Date
Wednesday, May 18, 2022, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
May
4
Date
Wednesday, May 4, 2022, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
April
13
Date
Wednesday, April 13, 2022, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
February
16
Date
Wednesday, February 16, 2022, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
February
9
Date
Wednesday, February 9, 2022, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
January
19
Date
Wednesday, January 19, 2022, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
December
1
Date
Wednesday, December 1, 2021, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
October
28
Date
Thursday, October 28, 2021, 12:00pm - 1:00pm